Mark Gorenstein

Mark Gorenstein is a Russian conductor and violinist.

Mark Gorenstein

Russian coductor Mark Gorenstein

Born 16 September 1946– Odessa, USSR

Legal name Mark Borisovich Gorenstein
Nationality Russian
Mark Gorenstein was born on September 16, 1946, in Odessa, the USSR. Since 1953, he studied in the Stolyarsky musical school at the violin class. In his early childhood, Mark Gorenstein dreamt of becoming a conductor.
He graduated from the Kishinev Musical College after Stefan Nyaga and entered the Kishinev Art University after G. Muzichesku.
In 1982, Gorenstein became a laureate of the All-Russian Contest of Conductors and started “performing with symphonic orchestras in Russia and abroad”.
In 1984, he graduated from the Novosibirsk Conservatory, at the conductors department at the class by Arnold Katz.
Mark B. Gorenstein was invited to the position of the chief conductor of the Symphonic orchestra of Hungarian Railway, MÁV Szimfonikus Zenekar in 1985, and later, in 1989, he became the chief conductor of the symphonic orchestra of the city of Pusan, South Korea.
Since 1993, Gorenstein headed the Russian State Symphonic Orchestra “The Young Russia”.
The chief conductor of the Russian State Academic Symphony Orchestra 2002-2011.
In 2002, Mark Gorenstein received the title of the Russian People’s Artist – the Decree of the president of the Russian Federation as of 13.03.2002 N 278 “ON AWARDING OF STATE AWARDS OF THE RUSSIAN FEDERATION”.
In 2005, the maestro received the Prize of the Government of the Russian Federation in the field of culture.
In 2006, he was awarded with the Order “For Merit for the Fatherland” of IV class.
Since 1994, Mark Gorenstein has made about forty records of pieces by Dmitry Shostakovich, P.I. Tchaikovsky, M.P. Mussorgsky, I. Brahms, Beethoven, Sergey Rachmaninov, F. List, G. Bizet, Rodion Shedrin, Alfred Schnittke, A.K. Glazunov, T. N. Khrennikov, A. N. Scriabin, Richard Strauss, J. Gershwin, Anton Bruckner, M.I. Glinka, Sergey Prokofiev, Mozart, Gustav Maler, S.I. Taneev, Vladislav Kasenin, A.P. Borodin.


“…Gorenstein, already persuasive the thrift and clearness of his gestures, was a sovereign leader of the orchestra with marvelous woodwind instruments , compact disciplined brass and wonderfully harmonious strings. A great evening! …”
Kartner Tageszeitung, Austria

The sixty-five-year-old Mark Gorenstein motivates the 120 members of his orchestra, the State Symphony Orchestra of Russia, with immense precision. And what a rewarding experience! From the very first moment one feels the musical suction effect with which the developments are lived through with heart and soul and culminate in the deceptive cadences of the famous Adagio finale movement. Mahler with Russian soul – who might resist it? {MDG Records}

Scriabin – Piano Concerto, MVT 3. Vladimir Krainev (piano), Mark Gorenstein (conductor)

Tchaikovsky Francesca da Rimini Op. 32 Mark Gorenstein Novosibirsk Philharmonic